Follow @Mike_Sulli_9 on Twitter and Instagram


01/01/2015

Lots happened in 2014 – more than any other year of my life.

No.

Once upon a time (maybe even as recently as 18 months ago?) I thought I was. Moving overseas and checking out parts of Europe (with the plus 1 – she likes a shout-out occasionally) has changed that.

I’ve not been everywhere this year – relative to some I have not been many places at all – but the places I’ve visited all had their respective charm; food, people, scenery, the drink. Whatever it may be, all these places are special in one way or another.


There’s grey on the buildings, green in the parks and brown in the Clyde but I remember Glasgow for the people. They’re great and it proves their tourism line; “People Make Glasgow”. In particular, one bloke who had been distilling whisky for almost 50 years and looked & sounded every day of that. For the record, I’ll try to forget Glasgow for the haggis. It’s just horrendous. The 2014 Commonwealth Games city was also where perhaps my most entertaining experience of 2014 happened. The thought of the #Commonwelfie always makes me laugh. read more…


As well as my first actual German schnitzel, my first actual German biers and the Reeperbahn, I remember Hamburg for catching up with a mate. One of the school lads that I’ve known since year 7 (that’s almost 15 years!) putting us up for a couple of nights and showing us around his home town was great. There is nothing that compares to having locals show you about. read more…


I remember Manchester not for the scenery, not for the weather, not for having a “window seat” on the train, but for being where my somewhat-professional life in the UK started with a meeting at BBC Sport and the accent of the tram PA when she says “Piccadilly”. Who would’ve thought one word could sound so differently just three hours north of London?


It won’t remember me but I remember Basel for being the end of a weird bus ride. We got on a bus in Germany, drove to France, walked into an airport and checked-in on the Swiss side… all within an hour. Europe, huh? I did jag a big ass block of Lindt though.


It’s big, it was plagued by wasps and it smells slightly but I remember Berlin for the history. A 3-hour walking tour and we had ticked off all the big boys (Brandenburg Gate, Berlin Wall, Hitler’s Bunker, TV Tower, Checkpoint Charlie). I’m no history-buff but to think how relatively young today’s Berlin is is quite special. Definitely a city worth seeing and I like to think I’ll go back to see the alter-ego of the city (and another Curry-wurst). read more…


I regretted not spending time there between The Commonwealth Games and going to Germany but I remember Edinburgh for going there on a (freezing) work trip for Scotland v New Zealand at Millennium and the drinking session that followed. I was convinced I’d finish work, get room service, go to bed early and get on an early flight the next day. All of a sudden it was almost 6am and I had to be up at 8 to make the plane. I use the term “I remember Edinburgh” quite generously but if you’re after a post-rugby night out, get up there. It’s very good. read more…


The locals may sound American with their “Brummy accent” but I remember Birmingham as where I did my first OB for BBC Sport. I have a great job now and have done some fantastic gigs since arriving in Europe but to have BBC Sport on the CV will always feel pretty good. There’s a weird sense of synergy; Birmingham was where I did my first BBC Sport gig and, six’ish months on, Birmingham was where I decided I was quitting that other full time gig. There’s not much else doing in Birmingham apart from Villa Park and The Hawthorns (close enough).


No sign of sprouts but I remember Brussels for our first FamBam holiday and the Christmas Markets. It’s a big, grey city that most definitely came to life under the pretence of Christmas and all the market offerings – chocolate, sweets, waffles, beer, cheese, meat, potatoes. What more do you want? Mussels in Brussels? That’s a thing too. read more…


A spectacular stadium, a Wallaby win and some good post-match-selfie work is for what I remember Cardiff. It’s cold and it’s full of Welsh nutters but it’s definitely an easy day trip from London. I wouldn’t mind going back and checking out the countryside a bit off the reservation. read more…


I remember Freiburg through a haze of gin-fueled nights, 5-star food and absolutely superb company. Again, we were fortunate to get the local experience and for a couple of days we had a seat among Freiburg’s elite at ‘Table 1’. It’s a gorgeous place (it’s somewhere between a ‘small city’ and a ‘big town’) on the German side of the Swiss-German-French border. Drive half an hour out of town and you’re lost among dormant volcanoes that double as vineyard fields or where we enjoyed the most decadent lunch I have ever had. We were never short of a drink and we met some people who were indescribably welcoming. The perks of having one of the best chefs in Germany show you around his town. read more…


(more) Belgian waffles, (more) Belgian beers and (more) Belgian fine chocolates but I remember Bruges for its beauty. Parks dotted though the old town, canals that weave through the city and stone bridges that serve as vantage points to some views that wouldn’t be out of place on a “must-see” list. Bruges is great but a day there is plenty – there’s not a-whole-lot to do apart from drink and wander around… but what more are you looking to do on a holiday? I recommend it highly. read more…


I will remember London for being home. That’s an easy one. read more…


How was your 2014? Happy New Year.